Different parts of the same journey 8th February 2020

The picture of the field in Kenya was taken in 2004 when I was on a study trip with Tearfund transform.

Massive learning curve where I saw so many Christians, who literally had nothing and lived in conditions that I would not be able to cope with, doing so much and having a massive impact on their community.

Back in the UK I thought and prayed about what I could do.

I had no idea at that time what I could do.

I tremble now at the things I have done but it is only because I still feel weak and powerless but The Lord enables through reading the Bible regularly and studying His Holy Word .

There will be some who have stopped reading now but for those still with me i will continue.

Letters were the first things I did and I wrote to every member of the steering committee for EVERY CHILD MATTERS. the replies were very interesting and Education was the last and most dismissive reply.

I found out about local democracy and how to contact my MP.

Some of the original Local Authority officers were helpful and Leicestershire Democratic Services Department deserves a mention.

At first I observed the meetings Of The Leicestershire Children and Families Overview and Scrutiny Committee.

I very naively thought that was what the committee did!

I found out that I could ask questions as a memberof the public.

There are very strict rules and questions have to be submitted in writing one week before the meeting.

To get the reply it is necessary to attend the meeting and a written reply is given to the questioner before the start of te meeting.

At the appropriate part of the meeting it is possible to ask supplementary questions to clarify the answer given. On occasions the Cabinet lead and Director of Children’s Services are unable to answer the questions and promise to send a written response.

I expected questions and answers to appear in the minutes of the meeting but to start with this didn’t happen and I did need to check the legislation and guide rules in order to challenge this. Even when the questions and answers did appear it was through my MP directly asking a question on my behalf of the then Director of Children’s Services that it appeared Leicestershire had not registered with the British Dyslexia Association to administrate a Dyslexia Friendly training. The reason given was the cost of registration.

However with the equality Act 2010 it was clear that Dyslexia was to be included.

Early Identification and correct provision.

Quality First teaching is usually mentioned but on closer questioning professionals often flounder to explain what that soundbite means.

The 2014 Children and Families Act was an opportunity for early identification and correct provision to happen. I, even wrote to the Lead Cabinet member to seek reassurrance that children with dyslexia would be provided for.

I received a letter back reassuring me that this would be the case!!!!

The Children and Families Act 2014 required Local Authorities to work with Health and Social Services as well as other agencies and partners.

Parents were also to be partners and their information pivotal.

Sadly this again was the vision but the reality was very different so I continued to be contacted by parents as well as asking questions at The Overview and Scrutiny Committee. I am now limited to 1 question and 1 supplementary question.

At the last meeting in January 2020 I had submitted a written question and I did get a written answer but apparently the question was not one that the Councillors needed to see as it was operational rather than executive.

However further back on this journey I have had the privilege of being able to distribute Dyslexia Friendly books of the Bible published by the Bible Society.

Nancy Munyi and her sister Phyllis formed the Raregem Talent School in Kenya and when I met Nancy in England I was able to give her some of these to take back with her.

Also I was privileged to meet Jackie Hewitt-Main in Doncaster and her correct title now is Jackie Hewitt-Main OBE.

20170715_0953271714911930.jpg

Her work in prisons and with the Cascade Foundation in Doncaster was really amazing.

I met Tania Tirraoro from Special needs Jungle

She and her team have done so much and I can definitely recommend the e book

Show Me the Evidence:      www.specialneedsjungle.com

I did not think I would ever write a blog and my use of technology is not good

but I am so pleased that I have been able to have the confidence to do so.

More importantly there are now more parents asking questions and aware of the different legislation that is relevant.

Another person I have known for many years is Arran Smith.

He does a huge amount and SENDGroup webinars are suitable for teachers and parents.

http://www.sendgroup.co.uk

Dyslexia Show 2020 at the NEC 20th-21st March 2020

Children welcome at the seminars but do need to be booked in.

40 years ago I could not have envisaged what the Lord had planned for me.

I did not expect to see my children grow up.

I knew that I might go out of the hospital in a box and the baby also.

I did have  a live baby and have lived to see my grandchildren growing up.

I thank the Lord Jesus for my life.

wp-image-1446221788

Leave a comment